Boss

New place, new university, and but of course, new job. For anyone who does know me, they can easily tell you what a workaholic I am. I mean, I love helping people out, especially if it gives me experience in a desired area, discipline or just plain ol’ money. And even if I don’t get anything in return, I’m still happy helping out because that’s how my grandpappy taught me. He would always be helping people out, even if he didn’t know what he was doing. I remember this one time we were in a town we’ve never been before and we didn’t know anybody and we were there because he had a doctor’s appointment; and there was this one lady in a car and apparently it had broken down and her 12-year-old son was trying to push the car. My grandfather instantly stopped and went over to help them. Needless to say he was late for his appointment but he was happy because he helped someone.

And I guess I got that from him. He would always tell me to do things right or to not do them at all. Hence, I grew up with a need to be busy and a desire to help. That, apparently, is how I’ve landed all my jobs. My professors found out that I’m hardworking, responsible and have a good sense a humor about being over worked. And I am very grateful to all of them, because I know that it was that which I learned with them that has brought me here.

However, I believe what really helped me through the process was that each one had a different way of being a boss and a leader. My first job was an editorial job with Dr. A. She was the kind of boss that would give a million tasks but didn’t give you a deadline and still knew you would have it done the next day. She was mostly touch and go. She would give a particular task and if I did well she would give me harder things to do. Her particular method helped me develop myself as an independent professional and a student. She knew I wasn’t going to screw up and if I did, she would be there to guide me back to the right path.

The second boss I had was Dr. V; he was a funny one. He was (and is) a great man with a lot of responsibilities, and just like me he likes to take on all the jobs that are offered and slowly transition from the old to the new. His way of being a boss was a trying one but worth the struggle. He believed that the people he employed were capable of working with the most minimal of instructions; and it was true but a bit hard to transition into. He would tell me to do one thing and walk away; and if I had a question he would ask me what I thought was the best way to do it. He taught me how to make decisions and how to be creative about my decisions. He taught me how to have initiative and to always think one step ahead.

The last boss I had at my old university was Dr. C. She was my main mentor and undergrad mother (now she’s my fairy godmother).  She was more direct with what she wanted me to do. Her method was always to think big but she wouldn’t build everything in one day; no, she would ask me for specific and small things which in the end would turn out into this big wonderful project. She would also ask me to do computer based things which I had never done but I knew that if she had asked me it was because she trusted me to know how to fix it. And I did fix it. I did learn and even implemented things I had learned while using Myspace. Her method taught me to think in a bigger scale but to build that thought step by step; she taught me to step out of my comfort zone and learn new things, even if I never use them.

So every boss, in a way, has been a mentor to me. And all their love, care and leadership brought me to this new job with Dr. K; which is a whole different world from me. She’s calm, collected and tranquil. She believes in silence and in working things at a slower pace. While I’m a Chihuahua on redbull mixed in with a parrot who’s going through sugar rush. So yes, we are two different universes in alternate realities. However, from the little time I have been working for her I have noticed that her peace and tranquility does good to me. When I’m anxious she reminds me that there is enough time for X project. When I’m lost she assures me that she can teach me. And when I do something right she gives me positive feedback.

Yes, I am a little anxious as to how I should act around her and what I should say. But it’s a work in progress and I believe that as I am trying to get use to her tranquil pace she is getting accustomed to my Tasmanian Devil pace.

As far as this whole experience goes, I am still taken aback at how much space there is for me to grow and to smooth out some rough edges. I am also very surprised at how every aspect of this new life is a new learning experience. And I believe that’s what makes this whole trip worth the work. I came as one person and I know that when I leave I’ll be an even better person. And I hope, that where ever I go I am able to meet people like my ex-bosses and new boss, who will teach me their method and through their way I will learn my own.

 

Signing off, TWS

Leave a Reply

