She Could Not See Me

She could not see me

Even in the nearness, she could not see my eyes

She could not see the distance in my soul

But in that room she could hear the echo

The rattling of my bones as I took a breath

Sobbing uncontrollably, wheezing in the process

She could not see me up close

She could not see me even if she chose

But she could feel every vibration of my soul

She could feel my struggle and my hold

She could not see me sitting there

Vulnerable and bare

She could not see me through her empty stare

Yet she could speak louder than anyone

A low whisper, an encouraging laugh

It was enough to know that I was not alone

In the room that shrunk with my every word

And yet she had not left

She could not see me

And most people with sight couldn’t either

She, with her sightless eyes and her soft-spoken voice

Could give me back what most people couldn’t

Signing off, TWS

Leave a Reply

